Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    New Member Reputation: 0
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    20
    Rep
    0

    Odd boot-up sequence after cleaning...

    I cleaned my PC's innards this weekend, first time since November, I'm not a total fool to have touched anything (but then I'm no PC expert either) I used an air blower (designed for camera lenses, not PC cleaning) and a hoover. But I obviously did something, as it failed to boot when I first turned it on?

    After a few re-sets, it finally started with no obvious problem, all settings/files/programmes seem fine (to me), but a new screen appears before Windows 7 starts a DOS type page which takes approx 30s-1min to leave.

    It has things like: "Intel UMDI, PXE-2.1 (build 003), Copyright (C) 1997-2000 Intel corporation. This product is covered by patents... etc."

    Then: "Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller Series v2.30 (12/24/10)"

    Finally: "CLIENT MAC ADDR: F4.............. GUID: xxx..............."

    Then: "DHCP.../" -this bit rotates round for the time stated, and then disappears and Windows boots up.

    It never did this until Sunday... Have I broken it?

    EDIT: PC SPEC:
    Case COOLERMASTER ELITE 310 BLUE CASE
    Processor (CPU) Intel® Core™i5-2500 Quad Core (3.30GHz, 6MB Cache) + HD Graphics
    Motherboard ASUS® P8Z68-V LX: USB 3.0, SATA 6GBs, ATI®CrossFireX
    Memory (RAM) 4GB SAMSUNG DDR3 DUAL-DDR3 1333MHz (2 X 2GB)
    Graphics Card 1GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 560 Ti - 2 DVI,HDMI,VGA - 3D Vision Ready
    2nd Graphics Card NONE
    3rd Graphics Card NONE
    Memory - 1st Hard Disk 1TB WD CAVIAR GREEN WD10EARX, SATA 6 Gb/s, 64MB CACHE
    2nd Hard Disk NONE
    RAID NONE
    SSD CACHE DRIVE NONE
    1st DVD/BLU-RAY Drive 24x DUAL LAYER DVD WRITER ±R/±RW/RAM
    2nd DVD/BLU-RAY Drive NONE
    Memory Card Reader INTERNAL 52 IN 1 CARD READER (XD, MS, CF, SD, etc) + 1 x USB 2.0 PORT
    Power Supply 600W Quiet 80 PLUS Quad Rail PSU + 120mm Case Fan (£59)
    Processor Cooling SUPER QUIET 22dBA TRIPLE COPPER HEATPIPE INTEL CPU COOLER (£19)
    Sound Card ONBOARD 6 CHANNEL (5.1) HIGH DEF AUDIO (AS STANDARD)
    Network Facilities ONBOARD 10/100/1000 GIGABIT LAN PORT - AS STANDARD ON ALL PCs
    USB Options 6 x USB 2.0 PORTS @ BACK PANEL (MIN 2 FRONT PORTS) AS STANDARD
    Last edited by Phube; 23-04-12 at 22:52.

  2. #2
    Super Star Moderator Reputation: 1947
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    1,228
    Rep
    1947
    DHCP is for assigning dynamic IP addresses to devices on a network.

    Click Start type services.msc and press return.

    Look down the list to find DHCP Client and right click it. Select Stop. once it stops, right click again and select properties and in the drop down box for startup type select Automatic Delayed.

    Restart your computer.

    Then click Start, type cmd and right click the cmd and select run as admin.

    When cmd box comes up type
    ipconfig /flushdns and press return
    then
    ipconfig /release and press return
    then
    ipconfig /renew and press return
    then last
    ipconfig registerdns and press return

    Restart comp then go back to

    Click Start type services.msc and press return.

    Look down the list to find DHCP Client and right click it. Select Stop. once it stops, right click again and select properties and in the drop down box for startup type select Automatic. And restart one last time and hope it helps.

    If I've helped at all please feel free to add Rep by clicking the little star

  3. #3
    Member Reputation: 73
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Bristol-ish
    Posts
    85
    Rep
    73
    I think the DHCP is coming from the network bios boot, not windows - wouldn't recommend you do what for_the_buzz suggests above.

    My guess is you nudged the bios battery and have reset the default settings. Someone is going to need to walk you through the bios configuration to get back to what you used to have, and while you're at it disable the network boot rom.
    --
    Corsair Carbide 500R White Mid Tower Case
    Overclocked Intel Core I7-2600K Quad Core (3.40Ghz @ Max 4.80Ghz)
    Asus® Sabertooth P67 (New Rev 3.0)
    16Gb Kingston Hyper-X Genesis Dual-Ddr3 1600Mhz, X.M.P (4 X 4Gb Kit)
    1.25Gb Nvidia Geforce Gtx 570
    120Gb Kingston Hyperx SSD, SATA 6GB/s
    2 X 2Tb Seagate Barracuda SATA 6GB/s Hdd, 64Mb Cache (7200RPM) in RAID-1
    10x Lg Blu-Ray Re-Writer Drive, 16x Dvd
    Corsair 650W Tx650 V2-80 Plus® Bronze
    Coolit Eco Ii A.L.C Fat Boy (Advanced Liquid Cooler)

  4. #4
    Super Star Moderator Reputation: 1947
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    1,228
    Rep
    1947
    wouldn't recommend you do what for_the_buzz suggests above.
    Iv done it many many times. Even exact same thing happened when I first installed Acronis. The above worked. Even if it is as you said, doing what I suggested wouldnt hurt. Why wouldnt you do It might I ask????

    But you are correct, I read the post as

    Then: "DHCP.../" -this bit rotates round for the time stated, and then disappears and Windows boots up.
    When I saw it say rotates around I was assuming it was booting to windows already and then hanging.

    So yes most likely the Oprom settings in the Bios. Just disable them.

    Enter the Bios
    Go to Advanced - onboard device configuration
    Scroll down to Intel Pxe Oprom and Disable it. Save and restart.

    And if that doesnt work then try the other
    Last edited by Buzz; 24-04-12 at 09:10.

    If I've helped at all please feel free to add Rep by clicking the little star

  5. #5
    Member Reputation: 73
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Bristol-ish
    Posts
    85
    Rep
    73
    Only that it wouldn't help the problem (as I read it) .. nothing wrong with what you suggested, didn't mean to infer that
    --
    Corsair Carbide 500R White Mid Tower Case
    Overclocked Intel Core I7-2600K Quad Core (3.40Ghz @ Max 4.80Ghz)
    Asus® Sabertooth P67 (New Rev 3.0)
    16Gb Kingston Hyper-X Genesis Dual-Ddr3 1600Mhz, X.M.P (4 X 4Gb Kit)
    1.25Gb Nvidia Geforce Gtx 570
    120Gb Kingston Hyperx SSD, SATA 6GB/s
    2 X 2Tb Seagate Barracuda SATA 6GB/s Hdd, 64Mb Cache (7200RPM) in RAID-1
    10x Lg Blu-Ray Re-Writer Drive, 16x Dvd
    Corsair 650W Tx650 V2-80 Plus® Bronze
    Coolit Eco Ii A.L.C Fat Boy (Advanced Liquid Cooler)

  6. #6
    Super Star Moderator Reputation: 1947
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    1,228
    Rep
    1947
    Quote Originally Posted by c-hri-s View Post
    Only that it wouldn't help the problem (as I read it) .. nothing wrong with what you suggested, didn't mean to infer that
    Ah cool. lol No worries, was just wondering, as Iv been doing it on and off years so ya kinda had me there

    Either way.......Wonder if issue was fixed.

    If I've helped at all please feel free to add Rep by clicking the little star

  7. #7
    New Member Reputation: 0
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    20
    Rep
    0
    Sorry, as mentioned I'm a PC novice and I'm quite nervous about messing in the bios. I mean how much damage could I do... or is like what you said; quite straight forward?

    To be honest I don't really know how to get into the bios...
    Last edited by Phube; 25-04-12 at 18:50.

  8. #8
    Moderator Moderator Reputation: 14110
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    7,763
    Rep
    14110
    Best phone tech support,it may be something as simple as restoring bios settings to default,
    or it may be more involved.

  9. #9
    New Member Reputation: 0
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    20
    Rep
    0
    Does PCS have tech support and if so what's the number and opening times?

    Thanks for all advice.

  10. #10
    Moderator Moderator Reputation: 14110
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    7,763
    Rep
    14110
    (0844 499 4000) Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm (Saturdays 9am - 1pm).
    View waiting times http://www.pcspecialist.co.uk/call-waiting/
    Last edited by vanthus; 25-04-12 at 18:55.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
© PC Specialist Ltd
All times are GMT. The time now is 20:10.
vBulletin 4.0 skin by CompleteVB