laptop for Archicad and 3dsMax - GTX675MX or Quadro3000? i53366 or i73630?

chrwil

Hi

I'm an architect currently running Archicad and 3ds Max on an old Core2Duo 2.15GHz laptop with ATI HD Radeon 4600 graphics, 8gb memory.

I run photoshop, all Office programs and normally have tons of windows open at once.

I want a new laptop and the performance improvements I want to see are specifically:
1) faster / smoother navigation in 3d as I build my architectural models in Archicad. At present I can build my models in 3d and but have to twirl the model round without seeing shadows; when I stop twirling it takes a second and puts the shadows in. If I set it to make the shadows full time, navigation is too jerky.
2) faster updates of the layouts when I put say 10 views onto a single A1 page. Each view has to update individually and this takes up to 10 seconds sometimes. These views might be the floorplans, sections, elevations, shadowed 3d views (but not lightworks renderings)
3) faster navigation of plan views with large models with lots of data - at present panning around can take 2 seconds to refresh.

I don;t know whether the quadro cards will help with this. I am on a budget of approx 1500 so the quadro is a big chunk. Would the GTX675MX handle the above? I'm told that graphics acceleration is important but am not sure whether this applies to Archicad.

there is a description of the issues here on archicad http://archicadwiki.com/VideoCardsForArchiCAD16?action=show&redirect=Video+Cards but it doesnt reference the GTX675MX.

I'm told the i53360 would be better as its 2.8GHZ instead of i73630's 2.4GHZ for navigating the model, but would that 0.4gHz make that much difference? when I do come to rendering something, which admittedly isn't often, having 4 cores would be twice as fast as 2 cores and then I'd really really notice the difference?

thank you so much
Christopher

Chassis & Display
Vortex Series: 17.3" Matte Full HD LED Widescreen (1920x1080)
Processor (CPU)