Defiance II 15" First Impressions/Initial Review and Photos

dancol

Specification/Price
My model has the standard Full HD display, i7-6700HQ processor, Geforce GTX 970M graphics, 32GB RAM, Killer Wireless, 250GB Samsung SSD and 1TB HDD. I had initially ordered only 16GB of RAM on the advice of these forums and also friends but later upgraded to 32GB in order to reduce the potential for needing to upgrade later as this is something that I have never done before and I felt it was maybe better to just order it to start with whilst I had the available funds. Truth be told this machine is overkill for my current needs as I don’t currently do any graphically intensive gaming, but the reason I don’t is because I’ve never had a machine that can handle it before and it’s something that I’m certainly hoping to be able to get into from now on.

In the end it came to just short of £1300 which was a little more than I had initially intended to spend but I chose to pay the extra for the Defiance over the Optimus as I wanted a better graphics card so that I could be sure I had a machine that would last for a good few years. Besides, it was a treat to myself for getting my first full time job after university and as I'm planning to move out soon I figured I should do it whilst I had the chance! My previous laptops have normally cost me around £500 off the shelf so this is quite a departure from what I’m used to buying. In terms of value for money, what I have found is that this is a higher spec than I have been able to find anywhere off the shelf and I’ve found plenty of places selling lower spec machines for higher prices. As such it seems to be good value for money however it’s difficult to really establish any direct comparison here.

Looks/Build