Corsair PSU noise?

marisa

Hi everyone!

I thought I'd post this here first before emailing PCS, in case I'm worrying over nothing! I got a mini-PC from PCS (specs below) at the end of October, and up until recently it was great. At the end of November the Corsair CS650M PSU started making a very loud grinding/roaring noise, which happened on a couple of (seemingly random) occasions, before going away. I contacted PCS and they kindly RMA'd it very fast, swapping the old PSU for a new one of the same model. I installed it myself to the best of my ability - this is my first time owning a halfway-serious PC and I've never had to install a component before, but I did my best to follow the original cable setup and so on.

It worked perfectly for the first few hours, but I noticed an intermittent humming/buzzing noise later on in the evening. It's only been installed since Thursday but the noise keeps popping up at random, and it got especially loud today while gaming, though nowhere as loud and bad as the previous PSU. (The noise and temps of everything else were fine at the time, I don't push my PC's limits much.) I keep trying to get an audio recording when it flares up, but it's either so brief or so low that I can't catch it. It's a kind of low, hoarse, vibrating buzz - it sounds like there's a very sad bumblebee in there! Even while I'm just typing this with my browser and nothing else open, the sound comes and goes, quietly but still loud enough for me to notice the change in tone and worry about it.