Black screen every ~5 minutes while playing games

sancarn

Hi all,

I have a little problem with my laptop. I mainly use it for programming but recently I started using it for games which wouldn't run on my Macs (in general I use those for entertainment purposes and the laptop for business related stuff).

Regardless, as soon as I started playing games the screen would occasionally cut out. It flickers on and off for a 20-30 seconds (more off than on) then it'll permanently go off. I can make the screen come back by closing the lid and re-opening it. Then it will be good for maybe another 5 minutes until it starts to go again.

Initially I wanted to know whether this was a software or hardware issue. If it was a software issue I could probably fix it on my own... So I downloaded OBS and recorded a video when the screen started flashing. Sadly I did not see the screen flash in the video recording; which makes sense, but that means it is probably a hardware issue... :(

So I started thinking about what it could be. The only thing I can think of is that when I'm playing a game the computer tends to get reasonably hot. So my only assumption is that when the battery gets hot it is applying pressure to the wire which connects the computer to the screen, thus screwing with the visuals...

I've just thought that I might be able to test this by disconnecting the battery next time when I play the game. I assume the laptop will still run without the battery connected as long as it's plugged into the mains... but that's something I will find out when I get to testing it. The alternative test (but slightly more costly) would be to get a laptop cooler which I can place my laptop on. But if that doesn't fix the issue i'd be worried that I just wasted money! :p

Rambling aside, is there anything else that people suggest I test / does anyone have any idea of what could be wrong with the computer? Does it need to be sent back to be fixed or is it something I can fix here?

Specs: