Recoil II 17.3" Laptop review

Jamesb2407

Hi all,

These are my impressions on the recoil II 17.3" laptop, firstly i have never written any form of review before. However i could only find reviews for the 15" version prior to buying this, so i thought i should share my experience on its bigger brother, these are the specs i have ordered for the laptop.

Chassis & Display - Recoil Series: 17.3" Matte Full HD 144Hz 72% NTSC LED Widescreen (1920x1080)
Processor (CPU) - Intel® Core™ i7 Six Core Processor 8750H (2.2GHz, 4.1GHz Turbo)
Memory (RAM) - 16GB Corsair 2666MHz SODIMM DDR4 (2 x 8GB)
Graphics Card - NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 1060 - 6.0GB GDDR5 Video RAM - DirectX® 12.1
1st M.2 SSD Drive - 500GB SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2, PCIe NVMe (up to 3400MB/R, 2300MB/W)

At first i was very surprised at how thin and light this laptop is, the build quality is very sturdy and gives a very premium feel to the laptop. I personally love the mechanical keyboard, has a nice click sound while using (maybe not to everyone's taste). The quality of the 144hz screen is very sharp and clear, the depth of color seems very good too.

Now enough about the aesthetics, lets talk about its gaming capabilities and temps. I have found that this laptop is able to run all new titles at high/ultra on the graphics while maintaining FPS between 45-60, after 60mins ++ of gaming CPU/GPU temps remain between 60-66c. I would put this down to good design of the case, it has plenty of venting along the bottom & exhaust fans at the sides and back. This was all achieved while using the standard gaming fan curve on the system, i have never heard it ramp up anywhere near its full fan capabilities to maintain these temps either. It never became too loud and never caused my wife to complain while she watches telly :D