Can't install Wine on CentOS 5.... >_<

Gishank

Bright Spark
Firstly, I must admit I am not too good with the bar guts of Linux and I've only really used ubuntu. Now, I recently purchased a fairly powerful VPS spec which is running CentOS v5, however forgetting I know very little about Linux's guts.

Now, I tried installing it via yum with the command "yum install wine", this didn't work so I did a quick bit of googling and found out that it isn't available in the default repositories (which is wierd given it's popularity), thus I installed yum-priorities and then installed the RPMForge repository, I did a quick check to see if it was installed correctly and it was...

So I thought, huzzah my problems are solved, so I attempted to use "yum install wine" again and found that even though it checked RPMForge it couldn't find it. I even did a quick search and compared the packages available to the ones on the website page, all (as far as I could tell) were there other than Wine... Now I'm pretty much stuck as I haven't a clue of any other way to install it, and as far as I can tell the RPMForge is the only one with a remotely up to date copy of Wine.

If you can help me, I will erect a statue in your honour made out of cookie dough...

EDIT;

After further investigation it would appear that, although installed, rpmforge isn't working properly.. (Seeming as I can't download or search for any 'unique' package from their list. such as Wine) I followed all of the steps on how to install it here... However, it is enabled and when I type yum search without an arguement it lists packages on their server, so I'm confused to hell. :(

Last edited:

JSG10

Expert
erm...wtf mate? Wine? RPMForge? /lost confused.com?
Wish I could help but I have no idea what you're talking about >.< last I heard Wine got me drunk and didn't do much more than that!

Tom DWC

Hehe, as well as being an alcoholic beverage frequently won down the pub by cheating on the quiz...