Card Reader causing software failure??

roghun

Bronze Level Poster
This may seem like a software issue, but it's now been suggested by Adobe that it could be a hardware related issue.

My i7 16GB RAM Maestro AIO Desktop has an integrated 4 in 1 Card Reader. It runs Windows 10.

I'm an enthusiast photographer and upload all my photos using the SD slot on the PC.

I use Adobe Lightroom (latest version) to Import the photos from the SD card.

The actual Import works fine but as soon as it's finished the importing process, Lightroom stops working and I have to close the program down and then re-open it. The photos that I imported have been successfully written to my hard drive and the Lightroom catalogue.

I've spent over 3 hours online with Adobe, where they took control of my PC remotely and were able to recreate the issue several times. We even re-installed Lightroom.

Apparently, it's now being suggested that there must be some kind of issue between the software and the SD Reader such that it cannot continue to function!

The Adobe Community Forum have also suggested a hardware/card reader 'fault' as well.

I'm totally bemused, but thought I better check here to see if anyone can throw some light on this issue (which doesn't happen on my other AIO running Windows 7).

My first question is . . . . how do I check whether the card reader/drivers etc are all in working order (must be somewhere in Devices, but I can't find it!).

Thanks for any help/suggestions.

steaky360

Strange one!

Has it always happened?

The first thing I'd try is to see if the thing copies (without using lightroom) I assume (perhaps wrongly...) that when you put a SD card in it appears as a removable drive in the 'my computer' window? If so, just try to copy some photo's into a folder.

If that works, it isn't a hardware issue (at least I wouldn't suggest it is) I'd say its perhaps a compatibility problem between this piece of hardware and Lightroom)