First real PC purchase....My spec and some questions

marcle

Hi,

This is my first real gaming PC. I have read a lot of the posts on the forum and think I've got a sensible spec, but I have some questions and would really welcome your thoughts and advice as I'm new to this.

Budget of approx £1800

I currently play TESV, Fallout, SpaceMarine type games. I do some game modding but am limited by my current machine. I want to play games on top spec, with as little load time pauses as possible and be able to do some graphics work. Also to be used as a general home PC
I do not intend to overclock or water cool, although cooling is a concern as the PC will need to be housed in a confined space (desk cupboard, door open when in use)...I may have got a bit paranoid about this.
I have always run out of RAM on previous purchases, so for peace of mind want to go for 16Gb rather than 8Gb. I know it's really too much but for £40...hey!

Some questions:
1. Is it worth upgrading the mother board?
2. Should I go for a fan controlled and additional fans? I considered the PCS Maelstrom T900 Case with additional fans, I prefer the Nine Hundred Two case but couldn't afford the extra fans.
3. Is the CPU cooler overkill? would the Intel super quiet be adequate?
4. I plan to run the OS and one or two games from the SSD with everything else on the HDD, hence the 240Gb drive. Is the wise? Would I be better off running games from the HDD and getting a smaller 120Gb SSD and use the extra on additional cooling?
5. I've opted for the Intel SSD, are other components optimised for Intel compatibility? or are the Kingston drives better?

Case
ANTEC NINE HUNDRED TWO V3 - UK, The Ultimate Gaming Case, Evolved
Processor (CPU)
Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-3820 (3.6GHz) 10MB Cache
Motherboard
ASUS® P9X79: INTEL® SOCKET LG2011
Memory (RAM)
16GB KINGSTON HYPERX GENESIS QUAD-DDR3 1600MHz X.M.P(4 x 4GB KIT)
Graphics Card
3GB AMD RADEON™ HD7970 - DVI,HDMI,2 mDP - DX® 11, Eyefinity 4 Capable