How do I compare graphics cards effectively?!

Pixelwurst

Hey everyone!

I'm still relatively new to this whole Pc Gaming thing, so I'm not 100% confident in my knowledge. What I basically want to know is how do I effectively compare two GPUs?

I'm currently running an nvidia geforce gtx 770, which isn't struggling with modern games by any stretch of the imagination. But I've recently seen some reviews for the nvidia Geforce 950, saying it's a brilliantly performing budget gaming GPU. This really piqued my interest. So I started researching specs and trying to compare my current 770 to this 950. Now my basic mathematical knowledge tells me the 950 is better, simply because 950 is bigger than 770. But I struggle to believe that this is really all there is to comparing two graphics cards. Many of the more detailed specs for the 950 on nvidia's site are smaller than those of the 770. The number of cuda cores, the texture fill rate, that sort of thing. Does this mean that the 950 is actually a downgrade? Or does the simple fact that it is apart of the 900 series mean it is in fact better than the 770? Am I over thinking it, or under thinking it?

Any and all advice you might have for how one goes about comparing GPUs to prepare for an upgrade is MUCH appreciated.

Thank you so much in advance!

Edit: Hey nevermind everybody! Only a few minutes after posting this thread, I stumbled upon this site http://blog.logicalincrements.com/2014/06/graphics-cards-what-do-the-numbers-mean/ which has pretty much cleared up all the questions I had. You may carry on with your forum browsing, and have a nice day!

Last edited:

SpyderTracks

We love you Ukraine
Best way to check is google a phrase like "gtx770 vs gtx950", and that should bring up some hardware comparisons.

You'll always get GPUBoss coming up which can be handy for a very general overview of overall power, but doesn't really show any useful information http://gpuboss.com/gpus/GeForce-GTX-950-vs-GeForce-GTX-770