How to investigate a problem in Linux. some starter tips needed, multiple questions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Walidoll

I am a fresh Linux user. After almost two decades in the Windows environment, I switched to Linux a few days ago. I have used Linux in various other systems like LAMP VM or Raspberry Pi Ubuntu Mate, but never had it as software on the main machine.

I am still learning about the users and groups, that is something that I should fully understand, as I want to make a clear system in which some similar functions administers the same account but not my main account. If there is some excellent resource that I can use to gain a deeper understanding, please share the link.

Also, I need a resource for understanding a debugging process in Linux.

I have here some annoying situation. The system freezes up occasionally. I just lose keyboard and mouse and it stays there. In that state Caps lock does not change state, Alt+Tab, Ctrl+Alt+F1, Ctrl+Alt+F2, Ctrl+Alt+Del od nothing, but on one such occasion I had a video playing in Totem video app, the video continued without a hiccup. The only thing I could do was a hardware reset.
So, how does one investigate such a problem? I assume some driver made a problem, probably somewhere is some log of activities, maybe even a crash report, something that does the same function as event type warning and critical, minidump, bsod code and task manager in Windows. I can ask to help me investigate, tell me what to type and which results to send here, but I am more interested to understand that whole process while solving this specific issue.