New Graphics card (im a noob)

ojmck22

Bronze Level Poster
So im just thinking in advance for a new graphics card and i decided why dont i just go to PCS and click upgrade my existing PC as that will tell me whats compatible etc. (I currently have a 6gb Nvidia GTX 1660 Super But when i put in 16gb AMD RX 6800 it comes up with this message. As you can see i have a 1tb M.2 SSD. Just wondering whats the reasoning behind this. Thanks.

Attachments

• GRAPHICS CARD.PNG
    GRAPHICS CARD.PNG
    54.6 KB · Views: 134

JUNI0R

VALUED CONTRIBUTOR
So im just thinking in advance for a new graphics card and i decided why dont i just go to PCS and click upgrade my existing PC as that will tell me whats compatible etc. (I currently have a 6gb Nvidia GTX 1660 Super But when i put in 16gb AMD RX 6800 it comes up with this message. As you can see i have a 1tb M.2 SSD. Just wondering whats the reasoning behind this. Thanks.
Interesting. If you've tried multiple times, it might be something you need to contact PCS about. Be aware though, there phone lines are very busy with hour + waits. I'd recommend calling as early as possible for the best chance of having a small queue. They open at 9AM on Saturday and 9AM on Monday, If you'd rather email, they're taking a while to get through too, definitely a multiple day wait.

Although as this is a plan for the future, it might not be necessary to call until you do make the upgrade. GPU prices are also sky high right now so waiting will likely let you get more for your money. I'd also advise posting your full spec to make sure you have an adiquate build for that card and ample PSU wattage to take on the more powerful GPU.

ojmck22

Bronze Level Poster