Nova 15.6 Overheating CPU

demon28

Bronze Level Poster
Hello Everyone,

Today I finally received my Nova laptop. Its a beast of a machine and the Ryzen 5 3600+ 144hz + 2070 combo is so good. I am worried though by the fact that it runs pretty toasty. A game of overwatch made my cpu shoot up to 95 degrees celcius , considering its not even a demanding task I got pretty worried. Ive run cinebench r20 and again I got similarly ridiculous temperatures. The fans spins like a jet engine and I get pretty severe jumps in temperature ( like cpu temp jumps from 80 to 90 in one sec? perhaps a censor issue?). Average idle temps range from mid 50 to low-mid 70s.

I was running stock ryzen master settings/entertainment mode in CCC when I got those temps. Im considering 3 things at the moment, Undervolting - lowering the clock speeds and repasting (I have a kryonaut arriving soon)

I am not really experienced with Ryzen master, applying a manual profile with 3.6ghz max clock-1.35v Peak core voltage seems to raise my PPT to 1000W. That scared me a bit so I reverted back. Is it normal for Ryzen master to display a 1000w PPT at manual settings?
Any other suggestions that might help with the temperature? I would consider sending it back to PCS but I am in the process of moving houses so It's not an ideal time for me.

Forgot to add, GPU runs fine. Seems to be a CPU only issue

All Best,
Orestis

Last edited:

cg.stefan.this

Hello Everyone,