PCS and 17.3" Cosmos II Review

John W

I recently purchased a 17.3" Cosmos II, configuration listed below.

All aspects of this product meet my expectations (except one, see below). It works well and the build seems to be to a good standard. It is good value for money. In particular, I think that the 1920 x 1080 matte display is very good.

I'm not sure that the SSD provides an increase in performance that justifies the increase in inconvenience brought about by not being able to use the C drive for storing my files. It turns out to be too small to do everything I want with it. Ironically, the price for my configuration has gone down since I bought it, if I had waited a few weeks I could have fitted a larger SSD into my budget and I would have been able to use it as intended. These things happen! This is not a reflection on the performance of the PC or on PCS.

I am new to Windows 8.1, I think I will prefer it to Win7 once I get used to it. I know this is not the correct forum for this but if anyone is willing to answer a question I would be grateful. I am currently using Windows defender for malware protection, I have a spare licence for Norton Internet Security which I could use. Should I make the switch? When searching the internet for an answer to this I only seem to find 'extremists', I would appreciate a rational, unbiased answer from some knowledgeable person.

My interactions with PCS could not have been better. My questions before the order were answered quickly and accurately. The laptop was dispatched after 10 working days and arrived one day later (add two weekends and that's 15 days). It seemed to be in 'order processing' for a long time but went through the production process very quickly.

I had what turned out to be a very minor problem when I first switched it on (I had not even got into Windows, so F1 was useless). I called PCS service, got to speak to someone very quickly and he was able to provide the necessary help. Since then, no problems.