Please help with Octane VI specs

enquel

Hi there,

first off : PCS forum registration does not work from Firefox, needed Chrome for this.

the topic: I want to buy a laptop for 3D rendering and simulation. I am considering Octane VI with 64GB Ram, 9900K and RTX 2070 or 2080. My main concerns are:

a) what about CPU/GPU temperatures? I expect to be rendering on all cores/threads, sometimes not only on CPU but also CPU+GPU. What's the "effective" speed of this unit like after 2-3h of full CPU/GPU load?
b) the performance difference between RTX 2070 and RTX 2080 is roughly 15%, memory is the same, so I can gladly stick with 2070, especially if the power usage/heat is lower (is it? I am a TDP noob).
c) is anyone here using this unit for heavy computations as well and can share his/her review of Octane?
d) I am totally happy with Full HD screen now, can't see the point of 4K for my work. Is there also a performance consideration to be taken into account when choosing screen resolution?
e) I've read about 330W brick of this unit and that competition uses dual bricks for lower specs (mobile CPUs). So how that affects performance? Should I order custom mega brick for this one?

Best regards

debiruman665

Enthusiast
I've got an Octane with 9900k and an rtx2080

a) what about CPU/GPU temperatures? I expect to be rendering on all cores/threads, sometimes not only on CPU but also CPU+GPU. What's the "effective" speed of this unit like after 2-3h of full CPU/GPU load?

If you leave at stock settings your CPU will rise up to 100C before thermal throttling, thermals is the limiting factor. On 8 package use which is 8-16 threads, you will achieve a boost speed of around 4.2Ghz to 4.7Ghz, with the GPU on full and adding more heat to the heatsink the GPU can reach up to 90C and the CPU will be hitting around 4.2Ghz on 8 packages.