quantum computers,

greybing

what do you people think of quantum computers,,..for people who are not in the know i'll try and explain the little i know normal computers read information using binary 1[on] or 0[off] and from this you can pretty much tell the computer anything by combinations of 1's and 0's......with quantum computers you can have 3 options 1,0 and both[i know this is weird] but quantum physics has shown that a particle or atom ,whayever it is they use to physically represent 1 or 0 can be both 1 and 0 at the samr time meaning that a quantum computer could be much much more powerful,like millions of times more powerful ....now they have actually made one of these computers though it is very early days but it is certainly interesting stuff......if i have got anything wrong please correct me ,im no expert

Gorman

Author Level
Yes, been keeping a half closed eye on this for ages. It is very interesting and will no doubt make a dent in the future.

I always remember a quote about it.

"So how does it work"

"We dont know, but it does."

xrchz

Bronze Level Poster
(For those who know the difference between computability and complexity: ) quantum computers compute the same functions as classical computers, and are suspected not to be able to solve NP-hard problems in polynomial time.

Kalisnoir

Super Star
Its not that they've made one yet, but they think within 5 years that they can, so dont get too excited yet :p

Nemesis

ignoring the fact that no one will be able to afford them what do you think they could be like to game on???

Kalisnoir

Super Star
Here's the article that I first heard it from last night

http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/19/uk-research-team-brings-quantum-computing-closer-than-ever-or/