RTX 3080 - Which monitor?

sfeeju

Hi all
Been lurking on the 3080 thread for about a month now, thanks to all the contributors who have posted their experiences waiting for the 3080--it's been helpful.
I placed an order for a new rig on 11th November, blissfully unaware of the global shortage of 3080s. Once I knew about the likely long wait time, i upgraded the CPU in my build from a 3900XT to a 5900X- if a wait was unavoidable, i might as well get the better processor. I had decided against the 5900 as at the time it was pre-order only.
Bizarrely, I'm kind of enjoying the wait as it's the first time in decades I've actually had to wait on anything!!! (if any PCS staff read this-don't put me to the back off the queue!!!!!)
I'm no expert or real enthusiast, I just done a quick google of best card and CPUs to decide what to get. Reading this thread, I have noticed a few posts commenting on suitable monitors for the 3080. I was planning on getting a new TV or monitor anyway, was hoping someone could advise me on what I should be looking out for.
My eyesight is really poor, so if it comes down to a choice between big screen or best possible specs, I'll go for big screen every time. I'll probably be getting it from AO.com, as I already have credit with them. My budget is 600-800 quid, although, the longer I wait for my rig, the more I will be able to spend on it!!
Thanks

AgentCooper

At Least I Have Chicken
Hi, welcome to the forum! So... for a 3080 you’re looking at two options, either superwide 1440p or 4K 144Hz.

For superwide, the Samsung G9 is a forum favourite...

For 4K 144Hz, there’s more choice, here’s just a couple of them...

Lukemondo

Gold Level Poster
Hi, welcome to the forum! So... for a 3080 you’re looking at two options, either superwide 1440p or 4K 144Hz.

Been trying to find these but both are sold out everywhere I go or being sold at an inflated price and since I’m in no rush I’m holding out (being tight) :LOL:

sfeeju