Unlucky with PC Specialist build? | PCSPECIALIST

Unlucky with PC Specialist build?

Mashril

Bronze Level Poster
A while ago I made a thread regarding an issue with a black screen whenever something made contact with any metal part of my case, that was sorted out thankfully but the PC was damaged in transit, the motherboard was repaired but the 1080ti and the case was trashed so I was upgraded and offered the choice to get a 2080 or pay for a 2080ti, I chose to go with the latter and its been months since I got my PC back and it was working perfectly till about a week ago.

I would receive random BSOD with the error VIDEO_TDR_ERROR, nvlddmkm.sys as the culprit, I've exhausted Google trying to come up with a solution as it doesn't even have to be games, I've gotten it on youtube before, I've reinstalled Windows, even tried LTSC, using DDU to remove all traces of Nvidia drivers and tried multiple but nothing fixes it, I'm completely disappointed and frustrated by this, any ideas would be greatly appreciated as I have no idea what to do anymore and worried that I've wasted money only to get issues every couple of months it seems.
 

Mashril

Bronze Level Poster
Was just thinking I could try moving the 2080ti to a pci-e slot below the one its in now since its the same speed.
 

ubuysa

Moderator
Moderator
Was just thinking I could try moving the 2080ti to a pci-e slot below the one its in now since its the same speed.
Did that help?

From where are you sourcing your drivers?

When you reinstalled Windows was it a clean install from bootable media or did you use the Windows Refresh feature?

If this graphics card was working and now it's BSODing then what changed? When did it start and what happened at that time? Did you upgrade Windows to a new version (1809 to 1903 for example) and did you do that via Windows or via a new clean install?
 

Mashril

Bronze Level Poster
Did that help?

From where are you sourcing your drivers?

When you reinstalled Windows was it a clean install from bootable media or did you use the Windows Refresh feature?

If this graphics card was working and now it's BSODing then what changed? When did it start and what happened at that time? Did you upgrade Windows to a new version (1809 to 1903 for example) and did you do that via Windows or via a new clean install?
I've not done it yet but going to swap it tonight.

From nvidia.com

Completely clean install.

It started about a week and a half ago, been on 1809 since it was released and haven't updated to 1903 yet, the only thing I had done was run gpu tweak oc scanner but have since reverted the changes.

I just want to add that it's not something I can guarantee will happen, like I said in the op it happened while watching YouTube, it happened in cities skylines, ghost recon and state of decay. I also ran furmark for 15 or so mins and my gpu reached 75 degrees which is the highest I've seen it peak normally sits around 55-65 in gaming
 
Last edited:

ubuysa

Moderator
Moderator
the only thing I had done was run gpu tweak oc scanner but have since reverted the changes
TBH I have no idea what that is (I know what it does but I don't know the details of it) but my instinct would be to try a clean install (allowing Windows Update to find all drivers) just in case anything was left behind by that overclock. It's often the case that a clean install is a quicker and more reliable way to a stable system than trying to troubleshoot the problem.
 

Mashril

Bronze Level Poster
TBH I have no idea what that is (I know what it does but I don't know the details of it) but my instinct would be to try a clean install (allowing Windows Update to find all drivers) just in case anything was left behind by that overclock. It's often the case that a clean install is a quicker and more reliable way to a stable system than trying to troubleshoot the problem.
Already ahead of you with that have done a fresh install on the weekend after I reset the clocks
 

The_Scotster

Spamtastic
The OC may have caused a permanent issue with the card unfortunately, and my instinct tells me this won't be covered under warranty as overclocking the GPU isn't allowed.
 

Oussebon

Moderator
Moderator
That said, Nvidia's GPUs are so locked down it's apparently pretty hard to damage a card by overclocking it. PCS's stance re GPU OCs seems a little outmoded, imo.
 

The_Scotster

Spamtastic
Re-seating the GPU or trying the second slot is all I can think of that's left to rule out other than a hardware fault.

Given the cost of the card it's definitely worthwhile attempting a warranty claim but you may need to do it through the manufacturer rather than PCS. You can call and ask their thoughts on it though, absolutely no harm in trying.
 

Mashril

Bronze Level Poster
The OC may have caused a permanent issue with the card unfortunately, and my instinct tells me this won't be covered under warranty as overclocking the GPU isn't allowed.
Tried reseting it too, gave my pc a good clean out and reseated the GPU and the ram, was just googling around and read this,


So I really am not sure anymore it was only a small overclock of around 250ish? I really doubt that would cause any problems, I might just reinstall windows again tonight and let it find all my drivers and change pci-e slot and see what's what
 

Oussebon

Moderator
Moderator
In fairness 250 is rather a large OC for a 2080 ti.

But even if you take a GPU and apply an overclock that's totally unrealistic for it, it shouldn't damage the card, it'd just cause the system to be unstable until you restarted without the overclock.

As the moderator in that thread said, these days the GPUs are locked down too far for you to be able to fry them in the ways that used to be possible.
 

Mashril

Bronze Level Poster
Well got everything ready to format, fresh USB installed ready to go, went to change the pci-e slot but it didn't really feel like it was going in properly so aborted that idea, then thought well, I've reinstalled Windows before and wiped everything and even removed my cpu overclock so pretty much just gonna wait till I can afford to get a new PC in a couple of years or just buy another on finance, not really worth the hassle especially with Outer Worlds coming out soon.
 

Oussebon

Moderator
Moderator
When I have trouble putting a GPU in it's usually because I've got the far tips of the PCIe brackets caught on something instead of in quite the right place.

The GPU should fit. You can always try a different PCIe slot if you find it easier to manoeuvre there.
 

Mashril

Bronze Level Poster
When I have trouble putting a GPU in it's usually because I've got the far tips of the PCIe brackets caught on something instead of in quite the right place.

The GPU should fit. You can always try a different PCIe slot if you find it easier to manoeuvre there.
Alrighty, gave it another shot, realised my locking pin had fallen out so thats why, but put it back in and its fine now, just as I was typing this screen flashed black twice but no BSOD so far, who knows 😣😖

Also I've just underclocked my card on the Core and Memory by -150 to see if that helps any.
 
Last edited:
Top