Where to start learning about computers?

Ieuan

Hello everyone!

Where should a complete beginner start learning about computers?

My interests are in coding/game design and game mods (Is it called ethical hacking?) and just how computers work in general.

I haven't had much experience with computers, as Iv always had smart phones/tablets growing up instead, so I am a complete newbie! Lol

I actually don't own a computer at the moment, but I am looking into buying a Laptop to mess around with and learn more from! So I thought I could start my learning before I even get one :)

Any suggestions would be great! I find all the lingo and various topics/parts of computers etc a bit confusing, so any help that would set me off in the right direction would be great :)

Thank you!

ubuysa

The BSOD Doctor
I see you've had no replies and that's not surprising. It's a hard question to answer, I learned what I know over the last 40 years! As a start vist your local bookshop or library and get some basic books. Then you can ask about things you don't understand on here. That's the best way to use this forum. When you buy a laptop I'd suggest you install a flavour of Linux, it's much more of a hands on operating system and you'll learn more using that than you will with Windows. Don't try to learn everything at once, build a solid base and grow from there. :)

Wozza63

Biblical Poster
For programming, C# is a great language to start with. It's easy to learn and understand and also allows for more complex stuff that something like Visual Basic wouldn't offer. Game mods for the most part would need to be written in C/C++ which are much more difficult to learn.

Ieuan

Thank you for the responses guys :)

I will indeed check the library out! I'm planning on learning the Anatomy of your basic computer first (Just started learning about the CPU, Motherboard and ALG) I figure it is bound to help me out in the long run!

I shall also pick up a book on coding to give a read also!