WiFi extension help

Overthehedge

Hi all,

Im a complete computer novice/technophobe so any help would be much appreciated

Ive got a BT WiFi router in my office/shop but trying to run an extension into an annexe ten meters away

Ive run an Ethernet cable from the router into the annexe and it works (Ive tried a laptop and the signal is fine)

However Im trying to actually get WiFi in there so I purchased a BT WiFi Extender 1200 thinking I could plug the Ethernet cable into it, it doesnt work as a wireless extender as too far away, however putting the Ethernet cable into it doesnt work either as its obviously not designed for this

Is there a different device I can get to plug an Ethernet cable into and then have WiFi? (I am based in UK) I’ve already tried the link a second router and network it tricky but this hasn’t helped

Many thanks

SpyderTracks

We love you Ukraine
Hi all,

Im a complete computer novice/technophobe so any help would be much appreciated

Ive got a BT WiFi router in my office/shop but trying to run an extension into an annexe ten meters away

Ive run an Ethernet cable from the router into the annexe and it works (Ive tried a laptop and the signal is fine)

However Im trying to actually get WiFi in there so I purchased a BT WiFi Extender 1200 thinking I could plug the Ethernet cable into it, it doesnt work as a wireless extender as too far away, however putting the Ethernet cable into it doesnt work either as its obviously not designed for this

Is there a different device I can get to plug an Ethernet cable into and then have WiFi? (I am based in UK) I’ve already tried the link a second router and network it tricky but this hasn’t helped

Many thanks
If you call BT they now offer WiFi mesh pucks additional to the router.

I won’t go into the details but mesh WiFi is a modern far more robust solution to extenders and repeaters. What’s more they’re usually free.