Will this be ok?

mikeyk

I am looking to get a desktop, dual-booted with windows 7 and Ubuntu, will all these components work with that?

Processor (CPU)
AMD PHENOM II X4 965 (3.40GHz/8MB CACHE/AM3) - BLACK EDITION

Motherboard
ASUS® M4A78LT-M: mATX MAINBOARD, DDR3, USB 2.0, SATA 3.0Gb/s

Memory (RAM)
8GB SAMSUNG DDR3 DUAL-DDR3 1333MHz (2 X 4GB)

Graphics Card
1GB AMD RADEON™ HD6450 - DVI,HDMI,VGA - DX® 11

Memory - 1st Hard Disk
500GB SERIAL ATA 3-Gb/s HARD DRIVE WITH 8MB CACHE (7,200rpm)

Network Facilities
ONBOARD GIGABIT LAN & WIRELESS 802.11N 300Mbps PCI CARD (£16)

Also I'm new to Linux, so basically assumed from what I've heard Ubuntu would be the best to start out with, am i right? And how would you recommend the hard drive is partitioned?

pcdan

Bronze Level Poster
id prob go with 50GB for each OS then you got the 400GB left for apps / storage
but if u have the budge id probably go for the WD black drives for more cache to open files and apps faster than that 1

barrydrake

Silver Level Poster
I'd STRONGLY recommend having two hard drives, and let Ubuntu follow it's defaults and install on the boot drive with Windows pre-installed on the other. Grub installation will then find Windows and work just fine! Dual boot from a single drive with Win 7 can be problematical, and not for the Linux newbie. Depends on how geeky you are really.

At the moment, I'm having problems with an Asus mobo and Ubuntu 64 bit on 11.04 but 10.10 is fine. To make use of all your ram, you will need 64 bit, but some of the apps. I want to run (eg Skype) there is no 64 bit version .... My recommendation - use 32 bit 11.04 and forget full use of the ram under Ubuntu .... Ubuntu is so much faster than Windows that you won't really need to worry. Those with greater knowledge than I might want to challenge some of the above.

mikeyk