Windows 7 / 10 Advice Please, Thank you

slimbob

Enthusiast
Hi everyone.

I hope all is going well during this problematic time.

To be honest I just get by with P.C's and must admit I am a novice and very ignorant about them. With that said I have a quick question if anyone would be so kind enough to help me and give me some much needed advice it would be so massively appreciated.

Thank you very much indeed in advance if you help me.

Some quick background I bought my P.C from PCS about 6 1/2 years ago and it is still going strong but when it kicks the bucket I know where to come to get another, it has been absolutely fantastic!. Thank you PCS.

It came with Windows 7 Home Premium Edition (64 bit).

This forum gave me a lot of help choosing the spec and once it arrived in all its glory you also gave me some great advice on how to look after it. After a lot of really helpful feedback I decided to go with the below recommendations.

Microsoft Security Essentials - I run a full scan once a week.

Malwarebytes free version - I run a manual scan once a week.

CC Cleaner - Free version - I use daily.

This combined with a bit of common sense when browsing and keeping everything up to date as kept my P.C healthy and well for 8 years whilst being used daily. Thank you again for the advice.

Now my question.

I fully appreciate that Windows 7 is now unsupported and because I love it so much I have been looking around online and there are people saying as long as you have good antivirus and malware software in place and don't go to seedy sites you can keep using windows 7 for a few more years maybe indefinitely. They say that MSE is still supported to 2023 so after that I will would need to get new antivirus software.

So up to now I have just been doing what I always do previously mentioned above as I really love windows 7! Everything has been o.k. up to now.

What are your thoughts?

Am I safe?