Complete newbie needs advice

Midgetboytom

Hello im looking at spending roughly £500 on a computer (without tft monitor) and wanted to see if i could get some help and advice because i really dont have much of an idea. I would be using it for School/ Business work plus things like music but most importantly gaming :) Id like it to be able to run the rts games but am also interested in games like fear 3 and diablo 3 in the near future. Last but not least i need help with a case as theres many that i love the look of but looking into it see that they have waaay too many slots and i just dont need it so i wondered if you could recommend one that balances cooling with cost and looks for the following components:

Processor (CPU): AMD ATHLON II X2 260 (3.20GHz/2MB CACHE/AM3)
Motherboard: ASUS® M4A87TD/USB3: DUAL DDR3,SATA 6.0GB/s, USB 3.0
Memory (RAM): 4GB SAMSUNG DDR3 DUAL-DDR3 1333MHz (2 X 2GB)
Graphics Card: 1GB ATI RADEON™ HD 5750 PCI EXPRESS - DirectX® 11
Memory - 1st Hard Disk: 1TB WD CAVIAR GREEN WD10EARS, SATA 3 Gb/s, 64MB CACHE
Memory Card Reader: INTERNAL 52 IN 1 CARD READER (READS XD, MS, CF, SD, etc)
Power Supply & Case Cooling: 600W Quiet 80 PLUS Quad Rail PSU + 120mm Case Fan
Processor Cooling: STANDARD AMD CPU COOLER
Sound Card: ONBOARD 8 CHANNEL (7.1) HIGH DEF AUDIO (AS STANDARD)
Network Facilities: ONBOARD 10/100/1000 GIGABIT LAN PORT
USB Options: 6 x USB 2.0 PORTS @ BACK PANEL (MIN 2 FRONT PORTS) AS STANDARD

If you can reccomend anything i need to upgrade or can afford to degrade id be very grateful thank you. :)

Meds

You would probably be better off going for a quad core CPU, you can change the Motherboard to a slightly lower spec model and bring the PSU down to a 450W model as you wont need a 600W with the specification you have chosen.

Something along the lines of this;

Case: COOLERMASTER ELITE 310 BLUE CASE
Processor (CPU): AMD ATHLON II X4 635 (2.90GHz/2MB CACHE/AM3)
Motherboard: ASUS® M4A78LT-M LE