Install Sequence for OS?

pez

Ladies and Gents.

I plan on installing both Win7 Ultimate 64bit and Ubuntu 10.10.

I've assumed that it should be windows first, as it gets temperamental with the duel boot load otherwise. Is this the case, or should it be the other way around?

Cheers
Matt

misterdave

Enthusiast
Hi Pez,

I always do windows first as its safer, grub and lilo are happy to boot windows. I've never tested the other way as I'd hate to think what would happen if it failed.

Good choice on the linux front. Ubuntu man myself minus the gui

pez

Cheers Meds/Dave.

I haven't used nix in YEARS! - so thought I'd have a crack. The general feeling on the interwebs was the gui and ease of use of Ubuntu was very high, and arguably one of the most stable and well supported :)

Got my windows disc next to me ready to install as soon as Mr Courier turns up this morning.

Matt

JSG10

Expert
I'm curious as to what Ubuntu and other mac type OS are good for? I've never used them before myself and only very briefly had a play with a friends MacBook Pro which for the most part I just messed about on the rather intuitive mousepad.
Am I missing a trick with these OS? Or is it a case of if you're asking you don't need it?

misterdave

Enthusiast
I'm curious as to what Ubuntu and other mac type OS are good for? I've never used them before myself and only very briefly had a play with a friends MacBook Pro which for the most part I just messed about on the rather intuitive mousepad.
Am I missing a trick with these OS? Or is it a case of if you're asking you don't need it?

Kinda hit the nail on the head.