RTX 3080

imfasttom

Gold Level Poster
Isn’t that a VA panel? I was always told go for IPS for gaming. Could be wrong.
Yeah its a VA panel. If I recall. VA is better picture quality in terms of Brightness, colour etc than an IPS, but IPS is better at higher refresh rates and picture doesn't degrade at different viewing angles as much as VA.

I think stuff like this is always personal choice unless you competitive game.

Edit: But i am no expert.

Jxromey

Here we go DAY 60, Lets see what the next 10 or 20 days will bring.
What monitor do you recommend with 3080?
It really depends what kind of gamer you are. Competitive player I would suggest a 1080p monitor with 240-360hz ips panels. Asus PG259QN or Alienware AW2521H are great choices. Other than that, if you are more casual then some good 1440p monitors are a shout. I'd still try to go for one with at least 240hz though.

Jaycensolo

Bronze Level Poster
I can see the prices starting to fall on 4K 144hz due to more coming out this year. I think 3/4 were announced at CES 21 to come out later this year and 2 more were announced towards the end of fall 20 which would probably come out sooner than the others.

Martinr36

MOST VALUED CONTRIBUTOR
I went for the LG27GL850 IPS 1440p 144hz as I could not justify the price of a 4K 144hz as most where £850-£1000.
In which case you could save yourself some money & drop to the 3070 or even the 3060 Ti as 3080 is overkill for 1440p, you wont gain anything with a 3080 it's for ultrawide or 4k

A Samsung G9 is on the wish list but with the current 3080 supply issue, I think it is better to wait and see what's available when the PC arrives. I will also buy a high end VR headset.

I have thought about upgrading to a 3090 card but the step in price is too high.

Jaycensolo

Bronze Level Poster
In which case you could save yourself some money & drop to the 3070 or even the 3060 Ti as 3080 is overkill for 1440p, you wont gain anything with a 3080 it's for ultrawide or 4k