£500ish to spend on building a gaming PC, specs please?

Jimmy the Rogue

So, basically I'm new to this PC gaming thing, as for the past couple of years I haven't had much time for games in general but I was looking to get "back into the game" so to speak. I used to PC game as a child, but eventually I just didn't have the time, and when you're that young and you're using your parents hardware it isn't exactly much of a learning experience.

I have about £500 to spend with limited flexibility, interpret "limited" as you will. I was wondering if it would be too much trouble to ask someone to spec something for me, as I have absolutely no clue what I'm doing and I'm not going to pretend that I do. Also, you don't have to include an OS as this will be dealt with separately beforehand, otherwise it would eat into the budget considerably. Of course you don't need to be told that. :p

Also, almost as a separate question I did some quick searches to inquire as to what would be roughly affordable with my budget and came across some random components, and I was wondering if they're actually up to scratch, links below. Also noteworthy here is the fact that I could only find quite dated information, typically ranging from last year to about 2008!

http://www.amazon.com/Intel-i5-650-Processor-Socket-LGA1156/dp/B0030DL3FU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...emory)-_-Kingston+Technology+Corp.-_-20139046
http://www.pcupgrade.co.uk/productdetails.asp?productid=8687&categoryid=538
http://www.amazon.com/Socket-Intel-Motherboard-P7H55-M-PRO/dp/B0031AK5CE/ref=pd_bxgy_e_text_c
http://www.amazon.co.uk/XFX-Radeon-HD-6870-DisplayPort/dp/B0047ZH7GE/ref=pd_ecc_rvi_cart_4

Thanks in advance for any help you may offer.

Last edited:

Ash

I assume you need a monitor and keyboard/mouse included in this spec. Do you need wireless? What about speakers?