580m framerate issues

Lddowser

Hey all,

After some expert advice, recently bought a new laptop from here, can I say, love it and great service..

I mainly bought the laptop to play swtor, sad I know! But seem to have some issues while running it.

Laptop is i7, 16 gig ram and 580m card... If you need more let me know.

Game settings are on high and I've downloaded the most up to date drivers for the card.
The main issue is that from time to time I incur frame rate drops from time to time, this could be every few minutes while moving around.. When idle its sits around a constant 60fps but while playing can drop to as low as 5.. I've tried playing around with the game settings but this doesn't seem to resolve the issue.. Could it be latency?

When it comes to graphic cards I'm not a techie and would appreciate any help... Is there particular settings I should use in the nivida control panel?

Is there program's I should use to monitory card??

Many thanks in advance!

dangro474

Bright Spark
Hi Lddowser,

If swotor is anything like wow in terms of LOD loading times and interruptions, the framerate drop may be due to the game loading in new scenery / models.

Do you experience this issue in any other games / while running on an older driver release? Please check your driver release notes just incase your problem is a known driver related issue.

If you do not experience a similar issue with other games, judging by the number of omplaints which surface from a quick google search for "swotor low fps", I would blame the game itself.

El Wayneo

Silver Level Poster
If physx is on auto in the nvidia control panel then set it to cpu, loads of people having fps issues since the new nvidia drivers.

truegrace

Enthusiast
It can just be random, I know a few people who get low FPS spikes who run gtx570s, same drivers, better CPU than me, but I have never experienced it. Nvidea seems to have more issues than amd with swtor

ace1

Silver Level Poster