A question for the techies

Tiger Feet

Silver Level Poster
As you can tell, I am a bit of a novice when it comes to technical stuff regarding computers. This question may sound dumb, but it's a question that always puzzled me. It's a basic "how does it work" question.

If you have two drives and the primary one is a SSD, the operating system will be put on here normally I assume.

The question is, on the second drive or HDD secondary drive, is there some sort of operating system on this? Or does it load applications and files in a different manner? I'd be intrigued for someone to explain how the second drive loads up its applications or files. I'm sure there's a perfectly easy answer but I'm just intrigued to know how and I apologise in advance for being so dumb.

Cheers

Wozza63

Biblical Poster
There is no operating system on the second drive, you can install programs on this, and they will be registered on the registry on that computer (the first drive) this is why they wont work it you switched the drive to another computer, its just seen as another place for storage on My Computer like a DVD Drive or flash drive

Untitled.png

steaky360

In addition to what wozza has already said, a secondary hard drive will load ordinary files in the same way as an external drive. Ie it can be used essentially as a storage drive, all music and movies etc will be accessed as normal. Any installed program's will only be available to the original drive (typically c) it was installed on.c

Tiger Feet

Silver Level Poster
So are you only meant to put stuff on the second drive such as video and music? Can you not put any applications on the secondary drive and if you can, how do these work and load up?

Cheers

keynes

Multiverse Poster
So are you only meant to put stuff on the second drive such as video and music? Can you not put any applications on the secondary drive and if you can, how do these work and load up?

Cheers