AUO screen VS standart matte

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lavaridge

Could you explain what makes it so much better than the alternative screens? I've read good, though brief, reviews of it but, since I've never used any non-standard screen before, I don't really know too well what sort of difference to expect.

Also, does it have (m)any of the flaws which glossy screen advocates say are common on matte displays?

Hopefully this will help the OP too :)

Last edited:

Yamikotai

Expert
Colour accuracy and reproduction. The colours displayed on it are much more accurate compared to standard TN panels (95% compared to 45-60%... 70% if you're lucky). It really does look fantastic.
I'm currently using this image (below) as my desktop background in order to show off the screen to people, since it's a vibrant image covering a very wide area of colour.
http://cdn.skyje.com/gallery/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/ips_wallpaper.png

With images like that it's very clear when you look at it on the AUO screen versus a standard TN.

Now, regarding issues of matte screens. They're not really that big of an issue - this panel looks far better than any screen I've ever seen, glossy or matte. And I own a Galaxy S2.

Yamikotai

Expert
Figured I'd update this with the screen part of (the draft of) my review of the Genesis IV: