Brand new PC keeps crashing, as do games, usually as they're booting

CaptainKristoff

Hi all, I ordered a PC from here and it arrived on Xmas eve, what great timing I thought! Well, since then I've had multiple crashes and issues so I'm really hoping you may be able to help. I'm pretty new to PC gaming, though have always worked on computers so I'm not utterly clueless... Anyway, to my issues. I booted the PC for the first time and followed all the Windows setup prompts. When that was complete I installed the many windows updates and updated the Nvidia driver to the gaming version as per the already installed app. I then installed Steam and Ubisoft Connect (as one of my SSD's came with Assassins Creed Valhalla for free). I also got a free month of Xbox Game Pass; all seemed good so far. I tried to install the latest Doom from Game Pass but it kept stopping the download shortly after starting. I then tried to install AC Valhalla, seemed to go ok, I booted it up then when in the menu it crashed, then would crash before it booted on subsequent attempts. I then downloaded Quake on Steam (I'd played this on my work gaming PC so knew it was ok, and a small file), that runs fine. I then installed Cyberpunk 2077, mid way through the install the PC crashed. Upon restarting, I finished the install, the game crashed as it booted each time, I verified the files, of which some were corrupt. It crashed again whilst repairing these. I uninstalled and reinstalled Cyberpunk and this time it started, but then crashed in the menu's (character creation) and wouldn't boot again after. I then tried downloading F1 2020, the PC again crashed about 2 hours into the download.