cd/rom and dvd players stopped working.

Ted10

I bought my pc from PCS about 6years ago and it has been running fine but now a fault has occurred with both dvd drives as they will not read the discs,they blink six times and stop.I says to myself i will get new drivers and see if that cures the problem,but no such luck as you try to upgrade the drivers a message says error code 39.

I put that code into Windows and it told me to uninstall the following registry key HKEY-LOCAL_MACHINE/CurrentControlSet/Control/Class/(4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318) Delete the registry keys Lower Filters,Lower Filters.bak,Upper Filter,Upper Filters.bak but could not find the filters with bak on them.How about one of you brilliant guys help me out with the right solution.

Keep it simple as i am 71 and self taught.Thanks to all who help me out.

pengipete

Rising Star
Hi Ted.

The advice for error 39 is to delete whichever of those registry values exist - if you don't have the ".bak" ones, just delete the others.

Give it a go and post back - if it doesn't work, we'll look for some other solutions.

Ted10

Thanks pengipete for getting back to me so quickly.

I have deleted the upper and lower filters but i am sorry to say that nothing has changed as both drives are still not working.

I am depending on your superior knowledge in fixing this problem.

pengipete

Rising Star
First things to look at....

Do the drives show up in Windows - double click on My Computers and are the drives there?