Great expectations....

Bishybarnybee

Bronze Level Poster
Hi everyone,

We bought our first PCS PC in 2009 and are now expecting a new laptop (currently awaiting dispatch!!). It has all gone so quickly since going into building on its 11th working day yesterday morning )

This is my first time on the forum and I would like to say thank you to everyone on the forums regularly as I have picked up a lot of good advice from reading through the various threads.

Oooh - it has just flipped over to Dispatched as I am typing this - perhaps it will arrive tomorrow!!?

Can't wait....
:)

Bishybarnybee

Bronze Level Poster
Thanks for the welcome folks - it's great to meet you! :)

Welcome!

What laptop spec did you get?

The final spec (after quite a lot of post-order "tweaking" - sorry PCS) ended up as:

Chassis & Display
Vortex Series: 17.3" AUO Glossy 90% Gamut Widescreen (1920x1080)
Processor (CPU)
Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Mobile Processor i7-4800MQ (2.70GHz) 6MB
Memory (RAM)
16GB KINGSTON HYPER-X GENESIS 1600MHz SODIMM DDR3 (2 x 8GB)
Graphics Card
NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 780M - 4.0GB DDR5 Video RAM - DirectX® 11
2nd Graphics Card
NONE
Memory - 1st Hard Disk
120GB KINGSTON HYPERX 3K SSD, SATA 6 Gb/s (upto 555MB/sR | 510MB/sW)
2nd Hard Disk
750GB WD SCORPIO BLACK WD7500BPKX, SATA 6 Gb/s, 16MB CACHE (7200 rpm)
1st DVD/BLU-RAY Drive
6x BLURAY WRITER, 8x DVD ±R/±RW & CYBERLINK SOFTWARE
Memory Card Reader
Internal 9 in 1 Card Reader (MMC/RSMMC/SD: Mini, XC & HC/MS: Pro & Duo)
Thermal Paste
ARCTIC MX-4 EXTREME THERMAL CONDUCTIVITY COMPOUND
Sound Card
Intel 5.1 Channel High Definition Audio + SPDIF/MIC/Headphone Jack
Wireless/Wired Networking
GIGABIT LAN & WIRELESS INTEL® ULTIMATE-N 6300 (450Mbps)
USB Options
3 x USB 3.0 PORTS + 1 x USB 2.0 PORT AS STANDARD
Firewire
1 X 1394a FIREWIRE PORT
Battery
Vortex Series 8 Cell Lithium Ion Battery (5,200 mAh/76.96WH)
Power Cable
1 x UK Power Lead & 230W AC Adaptor
Operating System
Genuine Windows 8 Professional 64 Bit - inc DVD & Licence