gtx 675m, vs gtx 660m. Is it worth springing up to quadro2000m?

lukeS

I am a video editor leaping from mac back to PC after being disappointed with the way they took final cut, and the way they are going with their OS in general. Seems very consumer iPhone style. Don't get me wrong I love their phones, but I want to have control of my editing as well as have a updated OS.

I am trying to purchase a mobile workstation which will have either a 2GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 660M or a 2GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 675M.
I will be running, Media composer and all of adobe CS6.
I have been told to go with a quadro2000m, for a mobile workstation, however they are quite expensive.
CS6 claims to be further accelerated with CUDA and both gtx 660m and 675m have cuda cores. 675 having a higher amount.
Would it be worth waiting and saving for a quadro200m? or could the cuda in the 675m do the trick?
Also I have heard that since the GTX is a gaming GPU it doesn't handle nearly as well as a Quadro. Is this just something they tell you to spring out more money? Or could a high end GTX handle as well or better as a low end Quadro?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Skinner

Bronze Level Poster
Hi Luke,