HTPC. Have A Look Please.

kingy71

A HTPC.

Its going to sit under the TV, to play 1080/720p, 2D/3D .mkv files, iPlayer etc, YouTube, maybe a little gaming.
Windows 7, maybe 8.

Ill get a Wireless dongle and keyboard/trackball thing separately.

Ive been using an ION for the past several years. It just cant handle the latest 3D/1080 files so time for an upgrade.

Opinions please.

Case
Silverstone GD05B Black Brushed Aluminium Case + 450W PSU
Processor (CPU)
Intel® Core™i3 Dual Core Processor i3-4330T (3.0GHz) 4MB Cache
Motherboard
ASUS® H81M-E: Micro-ATX, LG1150, USB 3.0, SATA 6GBs
Memory (RAM)
8GB KINGSTON DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (1 x 8GB)
Graphics Card
1GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GT 640 - DVI, HDMI, VGA - 3D Vision Ready
1st Hard Disk
120GB KINGSTON V300 SSD, SATA 6 Gb (450MB/R, 450MB/W)
2nd Hard Disk
1TB 3.5" SATA-III 6GB/s HDD 7200RPM 32MB CACHE
1st DVD/BLU-RAY Drive
4x BLU-RAY ROM DRIVE, 16x DVD ROM

:)

keynes

Multiverse Poster
You can probably get away with 4gb RAM but for gaming you may want something slightly better but that depends on the games you play.

mantadog

Superhero Level Poster
You can probably get away with 4gb RAM but for gaming you may want something slightly better In the GPU department but that depends on the games you play.

Something like a 650ti/660 or a 7850 would be better

kingy71

Ok, Ill go with the 4GB. Was thinking the same thing.

I aint playing Crysis, but if I was, the online spec checker says no problem at 1280 x 1024.

keynes

Multiverse Poster
1280? that is a pretty low resolution. It really depends on the game, not very demanding you could get the GTX 650.

kingy71

That card takes the build over £600, I aint got that.

Like I said I aint playing Crysis. It would be nice to play Kingdom Rush or Orcs Must Die, on a huge TV.

keynes

Multiverse Poster
That card takes the build over £600, I aint got that.

Like I said I aint playing Crysis. It would be nice to play Kingdom Rush or Orcs Must Die, on a huge TV.