Internet connection issue - Optimus

Bobby

Hey,

I know there are probably a few threads already discussing this but I needed advice in layman terms.

I have a new Optimus V which I'm very happy with for the most part. Like a few others I'm having connection problems. My laptop loses connection every 20 mins or so when on Wifi. Surely my machine should have come as up to date as possible? I am wary of uninstalling/installing drivers as I'll be honest, I'm relatively new to this level of technology. If I need to do this to sort out the issue, is it relatively easy? Where and how can it be done? If there is a step by step guide for beginner's I'd be very grateful. I can always call PCS but the moment they start with terminology I'm new to, I'm lost. Bit annoying tbh as I would have thought my laptop would have been ready to go!? Any help would be great, thanks.

Stephen M

Author Level
Would ned to know what OS you are on, Windows 7, 8, 8.1 etc. There have been problems with 8.1 and that may not be the fault of PCS, they can only supply what is up to date when they ship. You will have had a disk with drivers on it. It may be worth a google search of the problem as there are several forums that will help as well as this one. I am afraid if you have Windows I will be of not much further help as I migrated to Linux a few months ago and have not looked back.

Bobby

It's win 8.1. Yes there was a disk that had drivers on it, one of which was to instal WLAN but that's what I didn't want to get into. I don't know whether I have to uninstall one first or not...

ubuysa

The BSOD Doctor