Is it a bad time to buy a gaming PC?

TayAzza

AMD have just released the new mid range King with AMD Ryzen 5 5600x and Nvidias new RTX lineup is looking strong (Can't wait for more information on the RTX 3060ti availability as it only performs 10% worse than a 3070 according to some sources)

But is it a bad time to buy a gaming PC? I would like to know your thoughts and points as I am an expert by no means.

2 main reasons I believe it's a bad time to buy a gaming PC is:

1. Part shortages leading to increased prices.

2. Intel rocket lake chips are right around the corner.

With intel rocket lake chips around the corner that could offer a better alternative to AMD's latest chips and if not it should make AMD lower their prices a little bit.

I also believe AMD may drop a better mid value graphics card to counter Nvidias RTX 3060ti which will be very good bang for buck when it becomes widely available in my opinion.

Conclusion:

I feel as though I will be able to get a highly adequate gaming PC which has decent longevity for a cheaper price around March 2021 time. At the very least I will have more option to choose from.

Feel free to tell me if you think I'm wrong and why or let me know if you agree (be nice though aha)

Pooler

I think the component shortages definitely make it a bad time. I ordered my PC Spec just yesterday and to be hones I have no idea whether I will get it in 10 days or 10 weeks or even longer.

From the other perspective of timing for new hardware releases, I think it is difficult to pin point an exact right time. I don't think it is ever a really 'bad' time in terms of pricing , perhaps 'not optimum' is a better description. No doubt the PC I ordered yesterday will be cheaper in 6 months time but then I would lose out on being able to play the very best games for next 6 months. And to be honest £1500 rather than say £1250 in 6 months time is neither here nor there.

SpyderTracks

We love you Ukraine