Laptop Spec Advice

sjdimelow

I'm currently a researcher/early career academic in the UK. Initially I planned to buy a desktop, as I see them as being better value for money and I prefer the idea of a home office/workspace. However, given the fact that I may be spending some time in the States in the near future and am likely to be moving house a few times in the next 5 years (and therefore can't assume that I'll always have a good place to work with a desktop), I've resigned myself to getting a laptop. As far my requirements go, I'd like the machine to be reasonably portable, and be quite powerful and have a decent amount of memory as I have a lot of adobe documents and word documents to store, as well as photographs which I need to store and, on occasion, edit. This spec is at the top of my budget really, so any advice on stripping it would be appreciated. Also, can anyone attest to how portable this model will be? Cheers! :turned:

Chassis & Display
Enigma III 540: 15.6" Glossy Full HD LED Widescreen (1920x1080)
Processor (CPU)
Intel® Core™i5 Dual Core Mobile Processor i5-2520M (2.50GHz) 3MB Cache
Memory (RAM)
4GB SAMSUNG 1333MHz SODIMM DDR3 MEMORY (2 x 2GB)
Graphics Card
nVIDIA® GeForce® GT 540M - 2GB DDR3 Video RAM - DirectX® 11
Memory - Hard Disk
750GB WD SCORPIO BLACK WD7500BPKT, SATA 3 Gb/s, 16MB CACHE (7200 rpm)
DVD/BLU-RAY Drive
8x SATA DVD±R/RW/Dual Layer (+ 24x CD-RW)
Memory Card Reader
Integrated 3 in 1 Memory Card Reader (SD, MMC, MS)
Sound Card
Intel 2 Channel High Definition Audio + MIC/Headphone Jack
Bluetooth & Wireless
ENIGMA GIGABIT LAN & WIRELESS 802.11N + BLUETOOTH 3.0
USB Options
1 x USB 3.0 PORT + 2 x USB 2.0 PORTS AS STANDARD
Battery
Enigma III Series 6 Cell Lithium Ion Battery (5,100/5,200 mAh)
Power Lead & Adaptor
1 x UK Power Lead & 120W AC Adaptor
Operating System
Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit - inc DVD & Licence (£79)
Office Software
FREE Microsoft® Office Starter 2010 (Limited functionality Word & Excel)
Anti-Virus