Laptop won't shut down

Ideasweasel

Hi all I have a vortex 3 and after playing some games yesterday I have developed a problem. Shutting down the laptop results in exiting windows as normal. However once shutdown the power and backlit keyboard is still on. Screen is black and no amount of clicking keys will affect it. I thought I had clicked hibernate or something. I ha to manually hold the power button down for 10 seconds to kill it. I turned on again carefully clicked shutdown. Same problem every time. Restarting pc works fine.

To turn off I have to keep forcing it off via killing the power, not comfy doing this as can damage hard drive

Any thoughts guys?

Ps took bat out for an hour and putting back in didn't help. Problem still occurs next time I shut down

paul1224

I think this type of issue could be due to a range of reasons.

I'm not an expert but it may well be worth loading windows via 'Safe Mode' and then shutting the system down to see whether it will fully shut down via safe mode.

If it does shut down fine then much more likely to be some form of driver/software issue so it may reduce where the issue could be coming from by trying the above.

vanthus

Member Resting in Peace
could be a few things as mentioned.
Try checking power button action,right click the shut down button/properties,
make sure power button action is set to shut down.

Ideasweasel

Interesting...I have tried safe mode. Thanks for the advice. Shuts down fine in safe mode. So some software is the problem? Or a driver maybe?

Buzz

Master
Can you check your power options pls.

Start ~ Control panel ~ Power Options.

Once there select Balanced and click change plan and then advanced power settings
In there scroll to power button and lid and make sure power button is set to shut down. (this is for when holding in the power button but has also been known to effect shut down)

Try disabling hibernation

Click on Start, type cmd, right-click on the cmd icon and select Run as Administrator