MS Office 2003

mitchell65

Gold Level Poster
Most have heard that there will be no more security patches for Windows XP after April 2014 but the real bad news is that the last patches for Office 2003 will be on Tuesday, April 8, 2014.
It will be a bit of a security risk to continue to run any Office 2003 applications after this date. there are still thousands of people out there still using this very popular version. I have the Professional version and it does all I ask it and more. I use Publisher a lot but if it means a £300 investment I don't know if I can justify that. The work I do with it is a charity and is my contribution to their work. i could buy just Publisher for about £110 I think but that seems a bit short sighted, and I'm far too long in the tooth to pretend i am a Student!:wacko:

DeadEyeDuk

Superhero Level Poster
Thank the High Heavens!

Finally will be able to make an indisputable case to get rid of 2003 off all the machines that currently have it. It is a ridiculous pain in the bum that some still use 2003, as most use 2007 (not quite got the resources to get 2010..or 2013...). There are so many compatibility issues between 2003 and the later versions, that we sometimes have to either duplicate work so they can use it, or worse still, ONLY do things that work in 2003.

I mean please, its OVER 10 years old! You wouldn't still be using your PC from 10 years ago (I mean properly) :D

Hurray for progress :)

mitchell65

Gold Level Poster
I'm still using software that I had for Windows 95 and it serves me well. (It's never been updated either)

nathanjrb

Prolific Poster
I'm afraid I'm with DeadEye on this one!

The new MS Office is fantastic :) Or I think it is anyway...

tom_gr7

Life Serving
I use MS office 2010 professional plus (pretty much got everything with it)

I got it from software4students in a sale n was only about 35 quid!

You do have to be a university student though.

steaky360