New Laptop - First things...

Paulbax

Silver Level Poster
I should receive my Ionico 15 tomorrow.
Normally when I receive a mainstream laptop I just create accounts and go. I do nothing special, I let it update itself when it decides to.
With custom laptops, do you need to do anything special? It already comes with windows. I figure from many posts I will need to run windows update a few times. I will check the control centre.
Anything else???
Once up and running i will do a firestrike test. Should be fun, I've never done a perfo test before.

ubuysa

The BSOD Doctor
I should receive my Ionico 15 tomorrow.
Normally when I receive a mainstream laptop I just create accounts and go. I do nothing special, I let it update itself when it decides to.
With custom laptops, do you need to do anything special? It already comes with windows. I figure from many posts I will need to run windows update a few times. I will check the control centre.
Anything else???
Once up and running i will do a firestrike test. Should be fun, I've never done a perfo test before.
Run Windows Update repeatedly, even across reboots. Then open an elevated command prompt and run sfc /scannow (yep, even a new install sometimes throws sfc errors). When that's done, and before you install any software, check that everything is working. All ports, all drives, WiFi, Ethernet, audio (in and out), graphics modes etc. etc. You want to establish a baseline before you install your own stuff so that you can be sure if problems happen later that it was all working ok when you got it. ;)

Paulbax

Silver Level Poster