NZXT Phantom Water-cooling

SlinkyHD

Hi guys,

I am thinking about water-cooling my gorgeous Phantom case,I am completely new to Water-cooling but I am anxious to give it a try.I have done a lot of research on the subject and I am not sure whether to opt for a noob-friendly closed loop CPU cooler kit or go for a full custom loop. One thing I am really concerned about is me screwing it up and destroying my £1300 pride and joy. I really would love to give a full loop a try, would you recommend it for a water-cooling beginner?

My current system consists of:
  • Intel core i7 2600 @3.4Ghz (this will be OC'd to 4.5Ghz)
  • Palit Geforce GTX 580 at stock speeds (If i go for a custom loop should I get a water block for this too? It does get pretty toasty)
  • 2 X 4GB GSkill Ripjaws X 2133Mhz RAM
  • Titan Fenrir CPU cooler (Efficient and stylish yet rather enormous, it gets in the way of RAM slots and case fans.)
  • ASUS P8Z68-V MOBO
  • 1 X WD Caviar Black 500GB 7,200 RPM

Here is a picture to help illustrate my current rig.

photo.JPG

What I would like to know from you guys is:

• Should I go for a closed loop or full custom loop
  • What should I include in this loop (CPU,GPU,RAM and MOBO?)
  • What are the biggest difficulties when water-cooling, especially for the first time.
  • What kit would you recommend, I have a budget of roughly £200. I want quality products to ensure they won't leak =)
  • Where should I buy from
  • Has anyone modded this case before? I've heard you can fit a 360mm RAD in the top and a 240mm RAD at the bottom with some case modding.
  • Off topic but does anyone have any advice on fitting a window on the side panel where the large fan goes.(Cutting the case is not a problem, I would just like some guidance on the tools, materials and techniques.)

This pic shows how the 360mm and 240mm RAD have been done before and I quite like the layout:PHANTOM.jpeg