Please help me decide

yorkshire.lad

Hey, off to university in a few weeks, been looking for a decent laptop, I'm a medical student so need something fairly portable to take to and from lectures but I also enjoy playing games. I'm looking for something that will last me the whole 5 years of the course and have narrowed it down to either the 14" SkyFire III or the The 13.3" Optimus V

I'll be putting the 1600MHZ 8gb of ram in both (2 x 4gb sticks) and I have my own operating system.

As i see it the Optimus V has the GTX 765M whereas the Skyfire III has the GTX 760m. Will I see much of a difference?

The Skyfire III is £565.00 ex VAT
£678.00 inc VAT

The Optimus V is £607.50 ex VAT
£729.00 inc VAT

I have a 27" monitor in my room so gaming etc isnt that much of an issue. The optimus however has a 1920 x 1080 res while the skyfires is lower

Not sure which one to pick, only £50 between them, any advice is appreciated.

Last edited:

tom_gr7

Life Serving
personally i'd go for the optimus, but if you can try and get a quad core cpu in there if you are playing demanding games.

yorkshire.lad

personally i'd go for the optimus, but if you can try and get a quad core cpu in there if you are playing demanding games.

leaning towards the optimus tbh. and it does have a quad core i7-4700MQ :D , they both do. the only difference is the screen and the GFX cards.

rav007

Enthusiast
Hey, off to university in a few weeks, been looking for a decent laptop, I'm a medical student so need something fairly portable to take to and from lectures but I also enjoy playing games. I'm looking for something that will last me the whole 5 years of the course and have narrowed it down to either the 14" SkyFire III or the The 13.3" Optimus V

I'll be putting the 1600MHZ 8gb of ram in both (2 x 4gb sticks) and I have my own operating system.

As i see it the Optimus V has the GTX 765M whereas the Skyfire III has the GTX 760m. Will I see much of a difference?

The Skyfire III is £565.00 ex VAT