Recoil V 15.6 - Control Centre Tips/Advice?

Mr_Lemons

Hi all,

I have recently received my brand spanking new laptop, which so far has been great. However whilst I have somewhat of a technical brain (I am an engineer) I am not super clued up on electronics and IT.

I've noted that whilst gaming (Wasteland 3, all settings to max), if I set the profile on my laptop to 'office mode' the CPU and GPU temperatures will remain around 60 degrees C and the laptop will run quietly. I've then set the laptop to 'gaming mode' and the fans will kick up significantly, and the GPU and CPU temps will shoot up to 70-80 degrees C.

Can someone explain why this is? Does 'office mode' reduce the wattage of the components automatically? I tried to see the difference in the 'SPC Settings' and couldn't see any difference between the two modes.

Additionally, does anyone with the same chassis/setup have any tips/recommendations to optimize the system? Any good resources for me to read up on it?

Cheers!

For reference, this is what I'm using:

Chassis & DisplayRecoil Series: 15.6" Matte QHD 165Hz sRGB 100% LED Widescreen (2560x1440)
Processor (CPU)AMD Ryzen™ 9 Eight Core Processor 5900HX (3.3GHz, 4.6GHz Turbo)
Memory (RAM)16GB Corsair 3200MHz SODIMM DDR4 (2 x 8GB)
Graphics CardNVIDIA® GeForce® RTX 3070 - 8.0GB GDDR6 Video RAM - DirectX® 12.1
1st M.2 SSD Drive500GB SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2, PCIe NVMe (up to 3500MB/R, 3200MB/W)
2nd M.2 SSD Drive500GB SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2, PCIe NVMe (up to 3500MB/R, 3200MB/W)
Memory Card ReaderIntegrated SD Memory Card Reader
AC Adaptor1 x 230W AC Adaptor
Power Cable1 x 1 Metre UK Power Cable (Kettle Lead)
BatteryRecoil Series Integrated 94WH Lithium Ion Battery
Thermal PasteARCTIC MX-4 EXTREME THERMAL CONDUCTIVITY COMPOUND
Sound Card2 Channel High Definition Audio + MIC/Headphone Jack
Bluetooth & WirelessGIGABIT LAN & WIRELESS INTEL® Wi-Fi 6E AX210 (2.4 Gbps) + BT 5.0
USB/Thunderbolt Options1 x USB 3.2 PORT (Type C) + 3 x USB 3.2 PORTS