Recoil VII 17" 2023 In-Depth Review

John DM

Recoil Series: 17" Matte QHD 240Hz sRGB 100% LED Widescreen (2560x1600)
Intel® Core™ i9 24 Core Processor 13900HX (5.4GHz Turbo)
64GB Corsair 4800MHz SODIMM DDR5 (2 x 32GB)
NVIDIA® GeForce® RTX 4090 - 16.0GB GDDR6 Video RAM - DirectX® 12.1
Liquid Series® Laptop Cooling
PCS Liquid Series® Laptop Cooler
1TB SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2, PCIe NVMe (up to 3500MB/R, 3300MB/W)
Windows 11 Home 64 Bit - inc. Single Licence [KUK-00003]
Windows 11 Multi-Language Recovery Image - Supplied on USB Drive
3 Year Gold Warranty (2 Year Collect & Return, 2 Year Parts, 3 Year Labour)
1 Year Dead Pixel Guarantee Inc. Labour & Carriage Costs
TIMED DELIVERY TO UK MAINLAND - MON-FRI (BEFORE 2PM)
FAST TRACK 3 WORKING DAY DISPATCH

Hi PCS Community

I just wanted to share my thoughts & experience with my purchase. I am a professional 3D artist, I work a lot in Blender & other 3D software so this machine will be my primary work horse replacing an older Dell G5 5500 series. I originally wrote a much longer review, but it went beyond the character limit allowed, I will be as brief but precise as I can. I have been using this machine & the Liquid Cooler Box (at the time of writing) for about 6 days. I realize there is not much detailed information available on this machine & peripheral so I have done my best to fill this void.

I write this review with the idea of the laptop & cooler box as one complete unit (its proprietary so logic is there)

Chassis: TongFang GM7PX9N - Sturdy aluminum frame with a thin matte rubber coating, not too much of a fingerprint sponge. Solid construction, lid has a sturdy, wide center hinge (very little screen flex, tight awn for most of the travel way). Good access to ports (apart from the USB-C at the back by the cooling port, i think odd choice?), wide rubber feet, has good surface traction.