transferring data pc-pc via ethernet

Paigey

Silver Level Poster
Got my new PC today (which is awesome btw!), but I'm having a bit of trouble transferring my files from my old PC to the new one. All I have to spare is an ethernet cable... Was experimenting on creating a network between my old PC and laptop a few days ago to see if I could transfer data that way and the process seemed fine (watched a youtube video on how to do it since I'm not really an expert in networking and such). But trying it now from my old pc to my new one, after connecting them up via ethernet, I can't even see the other PC showing up on the network at all... All the network discovery and sharing options and everything is on, all the folders on both computers are shared... Is it more complicated doing it from windows 7 to 8.1? Or is there an easier (and cheap!) solution? Lost my external Hard drive unfortunately so that option is unavailable :(

ubuysa

The BSOD Doctor
If the computers are Windows 7 and Windows 8.1 the easiest way to do this is to setup a Homegroup in Windows. You can do this from the Control Panel > Homegroup icon, you'll need to set it up on both computers and there will be a password generated that you have to enter on the other computer. Once it's setup though you can very easily share any folders between the two computers and copy back and forth as you like.

There is a step-by-step tutorial at http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows/homegroup-help#homegroup-start-to-finish=windows-81&v1h=win81tab1&v2h=win7tab1.

Paigey

Silver Level Poster
Tried doing this but the computers just didn't recognise each other, even connecting them both to my homes wifi, they weren't showing up on the network. Will have to worry about this later since I'm having some other problems now in another thread lol :(

ubuysa

The BSOD Doctor