Virgin Media + BT Boradband Help

shilee

Hi, I am an oversea student studying in UK.. So I am not quite sure about this.

Can I apply a BT broadband (since it is DSL) when I already have VM cable in the same house?

I do have a phone line dedicated to VM, but BT is giving free new phone line now. So I am thinking to go for another phone line with BT coupled with its broadband.

Will this work?

The idea is that I would like to have my own broadband connection for online gaming. Since there's now 4 people sharing on VM broadband, the ping is high when they start streaming videos etc. Even surfing is hard when the broadband is congested.

Thanks!

Gishank

Bright Spark
As I gather, you can only have Virgin, or BT/Sky. Not both, due to technical reasons. Besidse for relevance Virgin is rated as the best broadband provider in the UK (speed wise) whereas BT is considered one of the worst.

pr1s0ner

I used to have VM cable and sky at the same address. I cant think of anything that has changed that should cause a problem. As long as it is cable and a BT line it certainly used to be seperate lines.

Cavid

You CAN get Virgin/BT in the same house however you'd be best to just get a 2nd VM line installed, pretty sure it's £99 for a second line installation but if you sweet talk customer services you might get a freebie!

If you really want DSL (bear mind your ping is most likely gonna be 150+ especially if you're not near an exchange) then make you let BT know you are keeping your existing Virgin line as they have a habbit of stealing VM's hardware when they disconnect it.

Again though my advice would definitely be give customer services a call and try for a 2nd line or look at upgrading your connection, VM are rolling out 100Mb broadband throughout the country and offer 50Mb to most places already, hope that helps.

shilee