Which linux flavour for best Steam and games support?

DMNL

Talked myself out of windows whilst discussing my new build in the check my specs forum - asides from Steam I dont need windows the rest is web based and just needs a browser.

So I am up for suggestions regarding which flavour would suit me best with regards to supporting gaming and if possible introducing me to linux too (never used it). I am not worried about it being foreign to windows as although I am not an expert I am a social scientist by training so have done some basic programming and am used to steep learning curves with regards to IT. I fit the profile of the 'IT genius' at work as I can comfortably research an issue and then follow the tut...

If all else fails there is win8 soon and I didnt want to repeat my error of ordering a new pc just months before win7 and thus having to install vista then the win7 update each re install so if the advice is stay away because gaming is pants on linux and your out of your league then bring it on ;p

DMNL

Thanks I had not heard of codeweavers so will check that out now. Apparently Valve are well on the way to releasing a linux client too as they feel win8 is rubbish.

I have made a ubuntu install pen drive so am going to test that out on an old desktop first. If I get on with it I may switch all my pcs over - I can even put it on my galaxy tab :D

Wozza63

Biblical Poster
They may relelase a linux version of it but it doesnt mean the games are compatible, the steam client worked fine for me, but most games on the other hand, thats a different story

DMNL

They may relelase a linux version of it but it doesnt mean the games are compatible, the steam client worked fine for me, but most games on the other hand, thats a different story

I guessed it would be like the Mac client in that regard - what about non steam games using wine or similar?

pr1s0ner

Both codeweavers and Wine maintain lists of game compatability. Along with bug lists and workarounds