Which would you pick?

dafjoh

Okay so I've been looking to make the jump to a laptop for over a year now.
I'm a game dev and use some very intensive programs (As well as intensive gaming). Originally I did want an Octane but the price and portability put me off.

However I'm very impressed with the spec/price of the 1070 Proteus VI & Defiance V especially with the 8850H.

Now my issue is all the heating issues around the defiance so I started to lean towards the Proteus and seemed to be a nice middle ground as the chassis is slightly taller & the exhausts look a little bigger, however the 1080p panel let's it down.

I have seen a thread about someone with a proteus & other mainstream brands also having heating issues with the 8 series CPU's not just chassis issues. I've seen all the small fixes like bios updates and undervolting, however these aren't solid fixes.

I'm aware people who have bad experiences are usually more vocal when leaving reviews so it probably isn't happening to everyone... So I'm taking it with a pinch of salt.

What are people's thoughts/experiences. I think more than anything I'm looking to hear from people who aren't being stung by these issues too badly to calm my nerves a bit lol.

I know I'd prefer the spec of the defiance but if the Proteus is actually better for cooling I'd happily go for that! But the Octane is definitely out of budget and not really as portable.

Tony1044

Prolific Poster
At the moment, given what I've read on here recently I'd be a bit wary of the Defiance. Which is a shame.- I have the Defiance II and it's an awesome piece of kit.

dafjoh

Is the defiance II a different chassis design?

[Edit: After a quick google... No they're not.]

Last edited:

Tony1044

Prolific Poster
Is the defiance II a different chassis design?

[Edit: After a quick google... No they're not.]