Broken laptop- data recovery. Please help (advice needed!!).

Nick_593

Hi, my laptop recently blew up with a lot of university work on there and some media files I would like to recover also.

I have spoken to people in PC-world (only place open that can help at the moment) who quoted me £80 to recover the data, and I would have to wait three weeks.

The broken laptop is a Toshiba Equium A300D-16 C, which was bought around four years ago.
http://uk.computers.toshiba-europe....dProductPage.do?service=UK&PRODUCT_ID=1056622

I have been informed through a friend that the procedure for recovering my data may be relatively straight forward and I only have to upload it onto a new laptop?

If so, what hardware would be needed?

Could someone give me some good advice on the best way to recover my data (looking for the cheapest option possible as I'm a student and pretty skint at the moment. Also need to invest in another laptop).

Thank-you!!

Last edited:

Nick_593

Hi, thanks for you're reply. How would I go about using this to recover my data (a bit naive to technical stuff, but trying to learn)?

Thanks

P.S. Its a 4 year old hard drive (not sure if that matters).

P.P.S, the laptop the data is on is completely unfunctional, so wont boot up at all.

Nick_593

This is the info of the hard-drive spec from the website;

capacity : 250 GB
certification : S.M.A.R.T.
drive rotation : 5,400 rpm

Would this correspond to 2.5 inch sata?..

Otherwise where do I look to find out?

Cheers

P.S. ///[Just taken hard drive out of the laptop (first time doing this!). Info on the disk says HDD2H02 B UK01 T
DC+5V 1.0A.

Cant see anything saying 2.5inch Sata Hdd..]

Thanks

Last edited:

vanthus

Member Resting in Peace
This is the info of the hard-drive spec from the website;

capacity : 250 GB
certification : S.M.A.R.T.
drive rotation : 5,400 rpm

Would this correspond to 2.5 inch sata?..

Otherwise where do I look to find out?

Cheers