Cant get new desktop to start properly - Newbie.

tommyjw

I'm complete newbie, so this could be obvious or be fixed easily.

Ordered a pre-built machine from the next day delivery section of the website.
Got it today, plugged it all in, turned it on.

It quick flashes to some screen stating bios version and few other information, and states to press space to continue (but continues within 2 seconds anyway).

It then flashes some other screen for a second, something about the Asus motherboard, but does not give me a chance to see any of the options or see what key to press to get any of them.

It then goes to windows recovery thing, starting it normally just keeps it at a black screen which it does not come off of (for the 10 minutes i've kept it anyway), and a safe mode start comes up with 'setup is preparing your computer for first use' but with an error pop-up stating this cannot work in safe mode, to which it restarts and goes back to a pure black screen and then keeps this on a loop.

Starting with any of the CD's i have been supplied with have not changed anything, i have also been given a SATA connector and a six pin cable thing and am unsure what to do with them, if i am meant to do anything..

Any help be much appreciated :)

Last edited:

PCS

Administrator
Staff member
Unfortunately it sounds like either sysprep has failed here, or that maybe you've turned off the power to your computer halfway through the first time setup, meaning that the crucial installation process has failed.

Did you first connect the monitor to a different connector on the PC, and at some point turn off the power?

The only way to resolve this is to re-install Windows unfortunately. It's a straight-forward process that just involves inserting the Windows CD and running the installation. If you refer to the Welcome booklet that we supplied with your computer there is a full step-by-step guide in there.

If you get stuck, please post back here and we'll help you as best we can. :)